Eclipse SWT migration to GTK + 3.0 status report: August 2012 – October 2012


Finally, I have decided to give a brief update on where are we standing with migration of SWT from GTK+ 2.0 to GTK+ 3.0.  The reason why I didn’t do  “status report”  earlier is pretty simple – huge amount of work and lack of time.

However, today, after an inspirational morning chat with our Team Lead ( Alexander Kurtakov), and after reading his SWT status reports, I’ve decided to post one of  my own.

Why status starting from August  ?  August was the month when all the “bug-fixing-action” started. Before that, there was some bug fixes from my side as well, but August appeared to be a starting point of major chunk of SWT bugs being fixed.

What was the numbers when I’ve started?

 OVERALL: 

         approximately 180 errors/warnings that needed to be fixed before we can build SWT with GTK+ 3.0

 FROM THEM:

            1. approximately 60 of them were deprecations within GTK+  2.0 library
                       1.1. approximately 30 of them required Cairo graphics library implementation to substitute deprecated methods
                       1.2. approximately 30 of them required substitution with new API methods
            2. approximately 120 of them were deprecations that can be tested only after GTK+ 3  is actually built

ALL of them needed to be version guarded to ensure backward-compatibility

Deadline: In August nobody was sure how much work will be done, but there was a hope that at least some of the errors/warnings will be resolved before January 2013.

What was  my workflow (same workflow persists now) ?

1.  I have opened public GIT repo to store all my bug-fixes
2, I have created solution for every method that is deprecated.
3. For every error/warning, I have opened  separate bug and gave link to my patch in the description of the bug. All bugs are blocked here
3.Patches were reviewed by Eclipse commiters and pushed to Eclipse master branch.

Now you can say:

“ALL THIS IS BORING, GIVE ME SOME NUMBERS! WHERE SWT STANDS NOW?!”

Today is October 16 2012.

In 2,5 months of hard work we have:

60 errors/warnings remaining ( 120 errors/warnings resolved)
– Red Hat Eclipse Team Leader  Alexander Kurtakov became SWT commiter
– I got my RHCSA Certificate (off topic but I am still very excited about that fact 🙂 )

Did anyone expect such decline of errors/warnings in such short period?

I don’t think so!

 What’s next ? We are hoping to resolve ALL the issues and build against GTK+ 3 by the middle of December  (pretty good hugh ?)

More detailed SWT October statuses can be found here
Regards,
Anatoly

 

Check out more posts on “SWT migration From GTK+ 2 to GTK+ 3”

About Anatoly Spektor

My name is Anatoly Spektor (originally Anatolijs Spektors) I am Software and Web Developer. I have worked in Seneca Center for Development of Open Technology on Big Blue Button Add-on - Polling Module, Red Hat and some other places :) I am an author of the book 'Eclipse Debugging How To', Muay Thai fighter and amateur photographer ;)
This entry was posted in Eclipse Development, open-source, Programming Languages, Red Hat, SWT and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eclipse SWT migration to GTK + 3.0 status report: August 2012 – October 2012

  1. Good day! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us useful information to work on. You have done a marvellous job!

Leave a Reply

