Installing Big Blue Button Development Environment on Ubuntu [PROBLEMS SOLVED]


Read It before you install

So here I am, again, exploring the endless opportunities of BBB.  This week I was busy Installing BBB Development Environment. It took me a long time to make everything work as it suppose to, and I don’t want anyone to go the same way I did. (For the record: I reinstalled Ubuntu couple of times to get everything working properly). It would be good for anyone to read this post before starting Installation process.

Installation manual is here and I want to give a credit to people who did this manual, because it is actually really good instructions on how to get things going. There are also Google group that can help you with any problem , you can find the group here and also second group where development issues are discussed is here.

So first problem that I had was:

After doing all steps in “Developing Client”, on “ant” command I had this error:

sudo ant
Buildfile: build.xml
  [taskdef] Could not load definitions from resource flexTasks.tasks. It
could not be found.

clean:

init-ant-contrib:

generate-html-wrapper:

BUILD FAILED
/home/firstuser/dev/source/bigbluebutton/bigbluebutton-client/build.xml:399:
Problem: failed to create task or type html-wrapper
Cause: The name is undefined.
Action: Check the spelling.
Action: Check that any custom tasks/types have been declared.
Action: Check that any <presetdef>/<macrodef> declarations have taken place.

Total time: 0 seconds

And this issue was following me all the time. Here is the discussion about it on the dev forum.

The cause of this issue is Permission Problems

Solution:

The only solution that helped me was:

1.Reinstalling Ubuntu from scratch, and what is most important creating a “firstuser” account as a first account when installing Ubuntu. Thus you won’t meet this problem, becuase Ubuntu will give needed rights to the firstuser.

I tried to use:

sudo useradd -d /home/firstuser -m firstuser
sudo passwd firstuser

I also tried to give firstuser “root” permission, but there are many dependencies already created when development environment is installed, so it didn’t work for me.

2. Open terminal and write:

   umask 022
 

What is umask? here is a good post on it.

This two things saved my day and I was able to setup “Client Development Environment”.

Second problem that I faced was when I was installing “Web Development” component.

This line:

 grails -Dserver.port=8888 run-app

Gave me a long error that looks something like this:

Base Directory: /home/firstuser/dev/source/bigbluebutton/bigbluebutton-web
Running script /home/firstuser/dev/tools/grails-1.1.1/scripts/RunApp.groovy
Environment set to development
  [groovyc] Compiling 11 source files to /home/firstuser/.grails/1.1.1/projects/bigbluebutton-web/classes
  [groovyc] org.codehaus.groovy.control.MultipleCompilationErrorsException: startup failed, General error during semantic analysis: unable to locate the java compiler com.sun.tools.javac.Main, please change your classloader settings
  [groovyc] 
  [groovyc] java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: unable to locate the java compiler com.sun.tools.javac.Main, please change your classloader settings
  [groovyc] 	at org.codehaus.groovy.tools.javac.JavacJavaCompiler.findJavac(JavacJavaCompiler.java:188)
  [groovyc] 	at org.codehaus.groovy.tools.javac.JavacJavaCompiler.compile(JavacJavaCompiler.java:49)
  [groovyc] 	at org.codehaus.groovy.tools.javac.JavaAwareCompilationUnit.gotoPhase
   (JavaAwareCompilationUnit.java:89)
  [groovyc] 	at org.codehaus.groovy.control.CompilationUnit.compile(CompilationUnit.java:476)
   ........
  [groovyc] 	at org.codehaus.groovy.grails.cli.support.GrailsStarter.main(GrailsStarter.java:212)
  [groovyc] 
  [groovyc] 1 error
 

The reason of this error was pretty simple:

Something went wrong when I installed OpenJDK.

Executing this line:

   sudo apt-get install openjdk-6-jdk
  

It did not gave me any errors while installing, but when I went to Java home directory there were not even half of the things there are now:

  $ cd $JAVA_HOME
  $ ls
appletviewer  javah         jps           pack200             tnameserv
apt           javap         jrunscript    pluginappletviewer  unpack200
extcheck      java-rmi.cgi  jsadebugd     policytool          wsgen
idlj          javaws        jstack        rmic                wsimport
jar           jconsole      jstat         rmid                xjc
jarsigner     jdb           jstatd        rmiregistry
java          jhat          keytool       schemagen
javac         jinfo         native2ascii  serialver
javadoc       jmap          orbd          servertool
  

Now I see many applications inside it, but when I got this error there wasn’t even “javac”. So I realized that there is a problem with Java package and reinstalled it using Synaptic Package Manager. Here what I’ve got in the end:

I hope this post will save your time installing Big Blue Button Dev. Environment.
I want to say big thanks to bigbluebutton-dev team, who helped me solving my problems especially to Richard Alam, who is author of the manual, and who answered to all my questions and helped me finding the right way out of my problems.

Cheers,

Anatoly

About Anatoly Spektor

My name is Anatoly Spektor (originally Anatolijs Spektors) I am Software and Web Developer. I have worked in Seneca Center for Development of Open Technology on Big Blue Button Add-on - Polling Module, Red Hat and some other places :) I am an author of the book 'Eclipse Debugging How To', Muay Thai fighter and amateur photographer ;)
This entry was posted in Project BBB and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Installing Big Blue Button Development Environment on Ubuntu [PROBLEMS SOLVED]

  1. Howdy!What’s up? :p I see that you are still holding this blog, congrats! Did you had problems with Google during the last update? It seems that your blog is one of the strongest in the current SERP’s! Keep that up and don’t forget to msg me when you catch some free time 🙂 Hope to see you soon!

  2. Lang Vine says:

    Keep working ,impressive job!

  3. pccom says:

    I got the same problem. I still have the problem even I reinstall openjdk-6-jre by Synaptic Package Manager. No javac found!
    How did you fix it by re-install it by using Synaptic Package Manager?

Leave a Reply

