Preparing for having my hands on Big Blue Button


Today we finalized our project goals with Big Blue Button, and in this post I am going to prepare my Computer for installing BBB development environment on it. This post is particularly important for the developers, who will be working after/with me, so they would know, what are the requirements for installing BBB,where to find required software, where to find information on installation of the product.

In this post I will be using information or directly linking the information presented in the BBB manual: http://code.google.com/p/bigbluebutton/ .

We decided to install BBB v0.8 beta (latest so far) on Ubuntu. Why on Ubuntu ? Because Ubuntu is the original platform BBB stands on.

So the requirements from official BBB (code) page are:

  • 2 GB of memory (4 GB is better)
  • Dual-core 2.6 GHZ CPU (or faster)
  • Ports 80, 1935, 9123 accessible
  • Port 80 is available and not used by another application
  • 200G of free disk space (or more) for recordings

You will also need: empty CD to burn your Ubuntu on it.

I will install fresh version of Ubuntu, because most of the used OS usually have port 80 busy with stuff like Apache.

I will use the latest version of Ubuntu Downloaded from here In the current Link there is also an installation tutorial.

The Big Blue Button itself will be taken directly from the repository using this tutorial.

So as soon as I get permission to install Ubuntu on my work computer and as soon as finish this process I will write about any problems I had on my way.

Cheers,

Anatoly

About Anatoly Spektor

My name is Anatoly Spektor (originally Anatolijs Spektors) I am Software and Web Developer. I have worked in Seneca Center for Development of Open Technology on Big Blue Button Add-on - Polling Module, Red Hat and some other places :) I am an author of the book 'Eclipse Debugging How To', Muay Thai fighter and amateur photographer ;)
This entry was posted in Project BBB and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

