Big Blue Button – Voting System


Here is a very interesting discussion about implementing a polling system to BBB. I agree that this is a great idea, allowing a teacher/presenter to check if the audience understood the information presenting by asking them some questions. Or even to ask the public opinion during the lesson or the conference. This feature could be a great addition to the BBB.

As I have found out so far, from the discussions on the forum, the poll/voting system must contain:

1. ability to create a poll ( poll should be created by an presenter so simple user do not have access to this feature)
2. ability to send a poll to simple users (students) for them to respond ( users probably can select multiple answers, so it should be something like window with checkboxes)
3. ability to collect the result, meaning when users answer the result is recorded and probably results are summarized and some summary is presented to presenter, and probably simple users can see it as well, if presenter share it with them.

The interesting question that I do not have answer to yet is: should the presenter be able to see the answers of any student, or just a summary of all answers? That’s an issue that needs some additional thinking.

Today I am going to explore, how polling system is implemented in other open-source/commercial products and maybe review some of them, looking at them from my perspective and pointing out the strengths and weaknesses of the products.

I am also going to make some notes about the discussions in BBB web conferencing page, so that I could have more clear view at what does other people think about it.

I also have a meeting with the person who will introduce me to “DyKnow”, so I am very excited to see DyKnow’s polling system in action as well.

I’ll catch up with you a bit later…

Cheers

About Anatoly Spektor

My name is Anatoly Spektor (originally Anatolijs Spektors) I am Software and Web Developer. I have worked in Seneca Center for Development of Open Technology on Big Blue Button Add-on - Polling Module, Red Hat and some other places :) I am an author of the book 'Eclipse Debugging How To', Muay Thai fighter and amateur photographer ;)
This entry was posted in Project BBB and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

