Big Blue Button – Exploring Architecture Part 3 – red5


Yesterday I wrote about Asteriks and VoIP and their place in the BBB architecture. Today I am going to explore the bbb-aps component of Big Blue Button, which as i think is most complicated of the whole system. However, understanding  its parts and how they are related to each other and to the system, will help me to get a view into the system and hopefully I will be able to understand  from where to start planning  development process.

In this post I am expiring red5.

So bbb-aps stands on top of the red5 media server, that supports live video streaming . Unfortunately for me, red5’s official website is not loading, so I was not able to get a documentation, however, after a small research, i have found a video , that showed me red5 in action. The advantage of the red5 is that it does not requires any special installations into the client machine (except probably Flash Player). Also red5 has a library of already developed applications, that is ready to use. For example “oflaDemo (number 9 on the picture below), the application that is used in the BBB to stream video is an  red5 add-on.

About Anatoly Spektor

My name is Anatoly Spektor (originally Anatolijs Spektors) I am Software and Web Developer. I have worked in Seneca Center for Development of Open Technology on Big Blue Button Add-on - Polling Module, Red Hat and some other places :) I am an author of the book 'Eclipse Debugging How To', Muay Thai fighter and amateur photographer ;)
This entry was posted in Project BBB and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Big Blue Button – Exploring Architecture Part 3 – red5

  1. Vishal says:

    Hi I am new in bigbluebutton and want to install it for red5 need your help

  2. Others just simply choose a blog site based on ease or name recognition. Furthermore,
    it also has some marrow as part of the package, which you can creatively spread atop the cooked meat
    for additional flavor. You can make a big batch of cider,
    hot chocolate or mulled wine and it will be fine in there for hours.

Leave a Reply

