Big Blue Button – Exploring Architecture Part 3 – VoIP – Asteriks


Welcome back to my posts about Big Blue Button. I am still exploring the BBB for my future project and in this post I will be exploring Asteriks server and VoIP part of the BBB, also i will find  how BBB interacts with other BBB components, stay with me and I hope our mutual journey will  be as exciting for you as for me.

So if you look at the architecture map of BBB  which is shown below, you can see that user can interact with the system not only through Browser/flash player, but also through softphone using VoIP or a regular phone line via PSTN. After voice signal is sent, it is received by Asteriks, which is FREE open-source communication server, that allows to   act on the Voice data, for example  in our case Voice is  passed  to asteriksjava(bbb-web), it  most probably  checks if the user is  muted and if not muted it sends it further to the bbb-aps  and bbb-aps with “asteriskjava” sends it to browser so other users can hear it.

About Anatoly Spektor

My name is Anatoly Spektor (originally Anatolijs Spektors) I am Software and Web Developer. I have worked in Seneca Center for Development of Open Technology on Big Blue Button Add-on - Polling Module, Red Hat and some other places :) I am an author of the book 'Eclipse Debugging How To', Muay Thai fighter and amateur photographer ;)
This entry was posted in Project BBB and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Big Blue Button – Exploring Architecture Part 3 – VoIP – Asteriks

  1. Robert says:

    Hey Anatoly,

    BBB uses freeswitch and asterisk for the VOIP but in the new version it is only using freeswitch, both components are open source so my question is…
    How is the voice been passed in freeswitch? do you have a freeswitchjava (bbb-web)?

    Thanks for your help.

  2. Hey Robert, sorry for taking so long to answer (I found your question only now) You have probably found the answer to this question, but if you didn’t I advice you to look here: http://www.freeswitch.org/node/117 This is freeswtich vs asteriks comparison.

    Thanks for your question!

Leave a Reply

